HidroPETere

My hydroPET Teiú (Tegu) was launched. In a bad day, nothing worked. Problems in steering and sail servo.

Low velocity was achieved, insufficient to fly the hulls.

But, develop a new project is like that, and new sails and news hydrofoils is a necessity, and I will do.

To my friend Doug Lord: by mistake I post in portuguese thinking that I was in Brazilian blog and I needed clean it. In these few minutes you read and do a question. Sorry.  I think that this post explain. I have one problem: What is the best foil to use? The Teiú is with 1.3 kg and seems me that I need increase the surface piercing.

Purposeful, construction is quite rustic, but with adjustable angles of hidrofoils and the angles of attack of the foils.

A French RC hydropetere:

About Fred Schmidt

Engenheiro Naval interessado em projeto de veleiros radio-controlados. Naval Architect interested in RC sailboats design
This entry was posted in Não categorizado. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to HidroPETere

  1. Fred Schmidt says:

    Thanks Doug. These informations are very important to me. I do the foils with 6% t/c. How make the dual altitude control? I was thinking in future designs do with electronically devices like gyro.

    Cheers

  2. Doug Lord says:

    PS- make sure to make the beam at least 1.36 X’s length-like Hydroptere.
    Foil loading on the F3 was about .176 lb per square inch(at takeoff) and much more as the RM was developed.

  3. Doug Lord says:

    Fred, the foil section doesn’t really matter that much-just keep it at about 9% t/c max. The thing about models is that a surface piercer is probably going to require movable ballast-there may not be enough RM to fly in much wind. The advantage of the F3 fully submerged foils with dual altitude control systems is that the foils will develop all the RM and therefore require no extra ballast-no matter how hard the wind blows. Even the full size Hydroptere uses movable water ballast.
    Good luck!
    PS-on the F3 the main foils were set at +2.5 degrees angle of incidence relative to the static waterline-with the rudder foil at zero degrees.

Leave a Reply

