Crazy for sailboats design

When I started to think about the  inclined waterlines as foils I was just making the mold of Aquarius. A traditional RG 65 that I have tried to make the  inclined waterlines more symmetrical as possible and with the lowest possible angle with the center line.
Now we are with Aquarius, Orca and Boson the first project with inclined waterlines as  foils. Boson, because the others will be derived from it.

About Fred Schmidt

Engenheiro Naval interessado em projeto de veleiros radio-controlados. Naval Architect interested in RC sailboats design
This entry was posted in Não categorizado. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crazy for sailboats design

  1. Balderdash says:

    Lots of interesting stuff here with shades of Uffa Fox and Dr Harrison Butler bring thrown into a modern melting pot. The design of my own RG65 is based on these same theories and has proven itself to be a very fast boat indeed. Loosely based on my experiences with the exeptional “Little Best” de Paulo Stier (ex. “Tuiuiu”), the “Xtrapolation” was developed with, and realised by, Alain Auger, a man of considerable reputation on the French model yachting scene.
    I look forward to reading more about your progress and thank you for an already facinating website which I follow avidly via your RSS feed.

    • Fred Schmidt says:

      Hi Balderdash
      In fact I’m still learning to design these wonderful micro boats. But the success of the boats with chine led me to reflect and reach in principle, that can be the inclined waterlines in the form of foil.
      And I’m studying this possibility that I will bring to the blog in full.
      The blog aims to be a union of all in seeking disclosure of the design and construction. Several people have helped me to do this, people like Eric Rosembaun, Doug Lord, Anders Wallin, Andy Hoffman, etc..
      The Blog is open to all and would have much interest in publishing your research and achievements, just send me stuff to my e-mail. Photos of construction, calculations, etc..
      Cheers
      Fred

Leave a Reply

